Sex and the City: The Movie

I’ve never really been a die-hard Sex and the City fan. I couldn’t relate to going ga-ga over labels, strutting around New York in thousand-dollar six-inch heels, or sleeping with several men on a daily basis. But I have seen my fair share of the fab four’s travails, and I’ve always enjoyed the series. Of the four, I think Carrie is the most easily relatable. Samantha is too out-there, too open with her sexuality, yet uproariously funny. Samantha is too much of a hard-ass–her cynical sense of humor sometimes doesn’t get across. Charlotte is too sugary sweet and perfect to even relate to. And we have Carrie. Carrie, the self-obsessed writer who likes to make her sexual conquests the subject of her little novels.

Our favorite fashionista New Yorker finally ties the knot! Sarah Jessica Parker as Carrie Bradshaw in an amazing Vivienne Westwood creation.

So when I decided to see Sex and the City: The Movie yesterday, I figured, I’d enjoy it, but it would still feel like the TV series. And it did. I think it was a good call to have Michael Patrick King write the film. The movie’s plot was a little blah–Carrie and Big finally decide to tie the knot, Samantha is now living in Los Angeles with Smith, Samantha is living with Steve and Brady in Brooklyn, and Charlotte is happy with her new adopted baby. Nothing exciting really grabs you–except for the clothes. And did they go all out with the clothes. Of course, any designer would jump at a chance to feature their designs in such a trendsetting movie as SATC. Carolina Herrera, Dior, Vera Wang and Vivienne Westwood were some of the big names that were dropped in the movie. The gorgeous wedding dress that Carrie sports in the film is actually a Vivienne Westwood creation. So to say that the fashions weren’t at all the center of the film is a serious understatement. Every scene featured a fashionable look, with designer labels scattered all over the place. This movie knows how to play the product placement game. There is Carrie’s upgraded computer, which was formerly a powerbook, and now a Macbook Pro. Carrie’s glittery Sprint phone was featured so much I think I mistook it for a character. Starbucks was all over the place in this film, and of course, the designs. Louis Vuitton, Chanel, Vogue, you name it, it was in there.

Who can get away with walking down the streets of New York with a giant flower on their shoulder?

Although I enjoyed the film and thought it was a fun watch, I probably wouldn’t get it on DVD, only because I’m really not a fan of the series, and I don’t really feel better as a viewer watching a bunch of white women spend their money on clothes and jewelry. Yes, I know, there is more to SATC than clothes and handbags. Sure, it’s about relationships. But I found myself rolling my eyes at the relationship squabbles this time around. Carrie and Big, Miranda and Steve…it wasn’t exactly new territory. However, Samantha was a real star in the movie. Special mention should definitely go to each woman because they all looked great. Sarah Jessica Parker looked stunning in every scene (well, save for the scenes where she was mourning for Big), even in this over-the-top outfit.

Although I felt that Jennifer Hudson’s character was such an afterthought and I felt like it was cheesy the way she and Carrie interacted, in the end I congratulated Sex and the City for successfully delivering on the humor, design and overall translation from TV to the big screen. I thought the movie did an excellent job maintaining the small screen quality of the show yet giving us bigger themes and bigger fashions. The one thing I never liked about SATC was how much emphasis they put on the superficial. Carrie has a closet the size of two bedrooms that Big builds for her in their new apartment. Jennifer Hudson’s character Louise rents her designer handbags and Carrie frowns on that. There’s all manner of snottiness in the movie–from insults about Mexico to living in Brooklyn, the film is rife with good old-fashioned, old-school SATC elitism, which is why everyone likes the show in the first place.

In the end, despite the flashy fashions, the film still centers around the four friends. I thought they did a good job with it, and the script was entertaining. A bit cheesy in parts, but still entertaining.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Big Screen

Leave a comment