:rolleyes:

Did you hear that? I think the cheese-o-meter just went off.

So I rented 27 Dresses, just for kicks, you know, as I am a James Marsden fan. I think he is an incredibly underrated actor, and when I heard that he finally got a lead role in a movie (even if it was a romantic comedy), I jumped at the chance to see it. Needless to say, I was about ready to just blow my brains out from the inaneness of the whole thing.

James Marsden plays a charming journalist intent on discovering why Katherine Heigl's character has such a thing for weddings.

First off, Katherine Heigl, we know you can do the comedy. We know you can be self-deprecating, yet charming, and we know you’re drop dead gorgeous. But really, do you really want to waste all your talent on a romantic comedy? Sure, you could potentially alienate your base of Grey’s Anatomy-obsessed twentysomethings if you decide to do a serious movie, but come on. So disappointing!

Now, granted I had known in advance that the person who wrote The Devil Wears Prada penned 27 Dresses as well, so I really only have myself to blame for seeing it anyway, but I was just curious, because Marsden has never really broken out in the mainstream as a leading actor before. Sure, he’s been in Disturbing Behavior, which I absolutely love, but in terms of something major and for the general viewing of the more mainstream public, he’s been in X-Men and Superman Returns, but always as part of a team, and never a star. He broke out a little bit as the Prince in Enchanted, and he completely blew me away in that movie, but I still don’t think he’s really nailed a movie role. This one, he was pretty charming and likeable as the cynical writer Kevin, who struggles with his career that seems to be in a rut–writing for the Style section of the New York Journal as a wedding reporter. However, because of the uber-mundane material and writing in the film, I just couldn’t help but flinch at the overall outcome, Marsden or not.

Now the upsides of this movie: it actually has a pretty neat soundtrack. Ray LaMontagne, Feist, Bloc Party, Corinne Bailey Rae, it was actually very well put together. The score…not so much. I swear, there’s probably like one go-to guy who does the composing for the soundtracks of all the cheesy romantic comedies. Another upside: Judy Greer. Alas, she plays yet another sidekick in this film. If you don’t give this girl her own movie, I will riot. Sure, she already has her own show, but she really needs to shine in her own movie, because I hate that she’s always the sidekick yet she outshines the star! Her character was totally awesome in this movie.

Anyway, the ending of this movie was horrible. I think I went to the bathroom and felt myself start to barf because of the complete lack of inventiveness in the writing of this film. Predictable ending–and ending that’s been done to death. I guess it was an expectedly bad movie, but hey, there’s always the cute boy to compensate.

2 Comments

Filed under The Big Screen

2 responses to “:rolleyes:

  1. jody

    i love this film i went to see it twice a cinemas and am getting it to day i love it ilove it27 dresses

  2. the blonde hair and eyes of Katherine Heigl is very attractive, she is very beautiful too ‘”`

Leave a comment