Jarhead

I’m not exactly a huge fan of war films. I’m not exactly a blood, gore and testosterone kind of girl either. The only war films I’ve seen were probably Black Hawk Down, Saving Private Ryan, The Great Raid and Three Kings. Okay, so maybe I’ve seen more than those four films, but you get my drift. I don’t think I have the stomach to watch men get blown up to bits.

Which is why I like Jarhead. Okay, aside from the fact that you get to see Jake Gyllenhaal naked, it’s also one of the most non-gory war films ever made. It basically just deals with marine training. Hanging out with the boys in the locker rooms. Masturbation. Having superior officers’ spit dribbling down your face from being yelled at constantly. Assembling rifles. Missing wives and girlfriends who are back home. Hydrating [you’ll know what this means when you’ve watched the movie]. Even more masturbation. Borderline insanity.

The movie is based on the book by real-life marine Anthony Swofford, who Jake plays. It’s directed by Sam Mendes, who’s responsible for the Spiderman movies. Jamie Foxx and Peter Sarsgaard also star.

Jake did a great job in this film. I never thought he could pull off the whole macho shit thing, but he did. I mean, after seeing him in cult films like Donnie Darko and in dramas like Moonlight Mile and The Good Girl, I never thought I’d see the day when Jake would actually play the role of a heavily-fueled soldier. Man, I wish I could see Brokeback Mountain.

Anyway, I’ve always liked Peter Sarsgaard. He has this really cute drawl. He can really play the fucked-up, bad guys so well. In Red Eye and Skeleton Key he was the good-guy turned villain. In Garden State, he played Mark, Largeman’s [Zach Braff] card-collecting, grave-digging hometown friend. In this role in Jarhead he was able to be badass and sensitive and brooding as well. He has this crying scene and everything, which I know I haven’t seen from him yet.

Anyway, good movie. I liked it. No blood and gore, just good ol’ fashioned hanging out with the boys. It’s a good dude flick. Although most guys would rather see an arm blown off by uzis than see Jake Gyllenhaal wear a christmas sock on his penis. Ooh, the p-word. Haha.

3 Comments

Filed under The Big Screen

3 responses to “Jarhead

  1. Andrew

    lol I’m watching this movie right now i have to agree with you even though i might like gory movies this is my favorite ware movie. The story line was very well written.

  2. Andrew

    Oops War 😛

  3. Jarhead is by far one of my favorite movies. Its excellent because there’s comic relief, but it gets serious and shows how soldiers do come back as completely different people. At the beginning of the movie the main character is a bit of a puss then it shows his character develop and change then by the end of the movie he is completely numb to everything around him, especially in the end of the movie (i dont want to say a spoiler.) Its overall pretty intense.

Leave a comment